Gulagnik Starts Here

May 22, 2010 at 11:15 am 12 comments

Welcome to the Gulag. It’s a place where those who express dissent to power can be found. It’s a place for those who believe in the power of their own free thought and the right to express it.

It’s especially a place for those who use two, three or more languages and want to keep doing so in order to spread information and learn new things.

We will be featuring translations, original writing and art.

We oppose all totalitarianisms and anything or anyone who disregards the primacy of human dignity, no matter where they come from or who they think they are.

Welcome to the Gulag, gulagniks!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Full Text of Recep Tayyip Erdoğan’s Speech! (English, Turkish, Italian)

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. danielaf72  |  May 22, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    So proud to be on board, Mary! 😉 Thank you so very much for offering me this opportunity!

    Reply
  • 2. maryitalia  |  May 22, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Daniela, I’m so glad you are here and I am the one who is proud to have a project that has an enormously talented and wonderful person like you on board! We will rock!

    Reply
  • 3. Crystal  |  May 23, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    This is an exciting new project and I am proud to be part of it! Thanks for creating such a place where freedom of speech and truth is welcome!

    Reply
  • 4. Crystal  |  May 23, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Ooops… freedom of speech and truth are welcome…

    Reply
  • 5. 4mauBarbara  |  June 7, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Crystal: You were correct in your 9:57 pm post when you used “is”. The subject is “freedom”, which is singular. “Speech” and “truth” are in a prepositional phrase. Perhaps an easier way to say what I mean, your statement can be read as “freedom…is welcome”. I’m a retired science copy editor (just one of my several “lives”!).

    Gulagnik, I just found you through globalresearch.ca. You are now one of my primary sites, and I will share you with friends and associates.

    Let our strength be in unity of spirit and action for peace and justice for all peoples.
    ~~~B~~~

    Reply
    • 6. maryitalia  |  June 7, 2010 at 2:03 pm

      How nice is that comment Barbara! Very glad you found us and are sharing. We’ve only taken our first baby steps, but the bulk of our activist translators have years of experience doing this and we were “the Middle East” in the activist translator group I helped found, Tlaxcala, which turned out to lose its core values. We hope to provide the best alternative to Google Translations and any other translations group in that all of us are activists ourselves and want to maintain high standards both in the content and the translations. Agree totally with your statement, unity is important!

      Reply
  • 7. 4mauBarbara  |  June 7, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    A concern: When registering, email is “required, hidden”. It is not hidden. Have I missed something?

    ~~~B~~~

    Reply
    • 8. maryitalia  |  June 7, 2010 at 6:22 pm

      I just now took it out in the moderation, Barbara, but actually, it didn’t show for me anyway! It may be that it shows on your computer? However, at least manually, I’ve eliminated it on the above comment.
      Yes, it’s too bad that Tlaxcala became more of a vehicle for the ego of the “Europeans” and they were a bit more interested in being a “translations factory” with too wide a range of topics to really remain on top of the hot spots in a really effective, activist way. What’s worse is that it lost the human dimension and especially the focus on human dignity that was the top value was severely lacking in the treatment of some of us. We are happier now, and a lot more free to be back on the street and out of the Salon! As far as I’m concerned, the best elements abandoned the Tlaxcala ship when it started to sink and they are here. It’s going to be a new adventure. We don’t want to be all things to all people, we want to be the right things and that is that!

      Reply
  • 9. 4mauBarbara  |  June 7, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    Mary: I remember Tlaxcala. I abandoned the site for the same reason.

    ~~~B~~~

    Reply
  • 10. 4mauBarbara  |  June 8, 2010 at 5:11 am

    Mary, Thank you for responding to my email address concern. As this was my first visit to your site, I was not familiar with your web page system.

    I don’t know how I might assist you in your efforts, but if you can use me for anything, please contact me. I have lived many “lives” in numerous places, and specialized in social, legal, and economic change. Undergrad = archeology+geology+architecture+art history; grad = physical anthro (pre-Contact Aleut mummification and medical practices). Activist (young, and now old Hippie) at community and global levels, science publications copy editor, the writer for Fed-funded career education model project for US schools K-12, newspaper reporter and photographer, banking, corporate exec. VP, field land surveyor in Appalachian mountains (partly West Virginia coal country), etc.

    Reply
    • 11. maryitalia  |  June 8, 2010 at 8:51 am

      Sounds Great Barbara! You sound like a brilliant resource! One thing that we often need are proofreaders who can correct the writing of non-native speakers who write or translate into English. I generally do a lot of it, but at times find a dozen documents lined up to do and don’t even know where to begin! If you might be willing to lend a hand there, it would be much appreciated.

      Reply
  • 12. 4mauBarbara  |  June 8, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    I am fortunate that my previous “lives” included contact (in the physical presence of) with people of numerous languages and dialects (even in my immediate family). I wanted to be a linquist, but my university offered only one basic-level course, and only if a minimum of six full-time students petitioned for it. That was in the ‘dark ages’ (I am 67 years old).

    I will most gladly be proofreader for these documents. Tell me when, and provide any guidelines you wish me to follow.

    ~~~B~~~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

